Life is a journey (Buhay ko to!)

“Life is not a series of non-sequiturs, not a bunch of unrelated happenings. You are on a journey, and as soon as you realize that, you will have a whole new perspective on your present situation.

Once you realize that you are on a journey, life begins to take on new meaning. When you begin to accept that all things have purpose, and that experiences come and go in our lives for a reason, you can learn how to say, “this too will pass.” I have learned to ask myself, “What can I learn from this experience?” I have become more patient with others, knowing that since I am on a journey others must be on journeys as well. Since I am not the author of my journey or the journey of anyone else, I cannot be judgmental about where others are on their journey. Maybe we are on similar journeys but at different points along our way, and so, instead of being judgmental, maybe I ought to encourage others along the way.

Recognizing life as a journey helps me to avoid getting stuck in any particular moment of life. I can enjoy the moment, but I shouldn’t get stuck in the moment. I can hate the moment, but I should not let the moment define me forever. It is God’s intention that you enjoy your journey; you really are supposed to enjoy life. There is something wrong with always being angry and always being distressed. If you let everything that happens to you rock your world, you are in for a rocky existence! Bless God, even in difficult times.

Doing this is possible only if we understand that we are on a journey, and the journey is the will of God for our lives.”
-Dr. Elyn E. Waller

~ by myfinalheaven on March 10, 2010.

Leave a comment